Recent Posts



No tags yet.

Balance Your Chakras and Chill Series: The Sacral Chakra

Creativity, expression and sensuality: three glorious things that are all ruled by the Sacral Chakra, or "Svadhishthana", the second of the seven chakras. This chakra is orange and amber energy, ruled by water, which flows and whirls beneath our navels. This is the chakra of pleasure. That feeling we get when we paint, when we have a good cry, when we have sex or when we have a heart to heart with a friend or lover spawns from the Sacral. Like water, when our Sacral Chakra is open or active, we feel emotions and inspiration move easily through us. Like water, we are free to express ourselves in the ways we desire. Like water, we flow.

The Sacral Chakra is located in the pelvic area. For men, this would be the testicles and for women, the ovaries. Since the Sacral is the chakra of creation, this also means reproductivity and creation of life itself. The Sacral also rules the kidneys and the bladder.

When our Sacral Chakra is open, we truly feel the environment and energies around us as well as the emotions inside of us. We do not suppress or hide our feelings. An open Sacral manifests into, overall, a positive well-being as well as inspiration to live happily, to finish projects and to indulge in pleasure. An open Sacral can lead to a strong sense of identity and strong relationships with others and the world around us.

As we are aware, the chakras can form blockages with stagnant energy. Signs of blocked or under-active Sacral Chakra can lead to numbness -- not knowing how you feel or feeling out of touch with yourself. Another sign you may have an under-active Sacral is having little to no sexual drive or satisfaction. On the other hand, an over-active Sacral Chakra can manifest into co-dependency or relying on others or outside substances (such as a drug) to bring easy access to pleasure. An over-active Sacral can cause one to overindulge in fantasies or have sexual obsessions. Other signs of a blocked Sacral could be feeling stuck in an emotion, experiencing depression or anxiety, and being overly aggressive or arrogant. Physical ailments that manifest with an unbalanced Sacral Chakra include cysts, lower back pain, urinary issues and problems or diseases involving the reproductive organs.

In order to open or balance the Sacral Chakra, one can meditate listening to Sacral Chakra Tibetan Singing Bowls. As mentioned in the previous article, my personal favorite is done by SonicYogi. Singing bowls help slip into a meditative state. Once you've taken a seat and have begun to focus on your breath, begin to visualize the brightest and clearest shade of orange possible. In this case, the color will appear more watery due to its element. Take all of the time you need to do this. If the clear orange is hard to visualize, or if this shade of orange is muddy, this is you seeing your Sacral Chakra as it is. Do not let this discourage you. With patience, the color will brighten and become translucent or even transparent. Breathe deeply, inhaling the clear, orange energy and exhaling the muddy, stagnant energy. Imagine the energy flowing into your Sacral Chakra like a quiet stream. If you're just beginning meditating, five to ten minutes will do. It is not necessary to push yourself. Your own pace is all there is.

Meditation can also be done with crystals. My favorite crystals for Sacral chakra healing are Orange Calcite, Moonstone, Snowflake Obsidian and Citrine. These crystals can be placed right on the Sacral chakra whilst laying down to balance, whether that be by opening or calming, or they can be worn as jewelry.

Affirmations, written or chanted, can also aid in healing the Sacral chakra.

My personal favorite affirmations include:

I feel beautiful and that my emotions and feelings are valid.

The Universe around me is beautiful. I flow with it's energies.

I am open to creative ideas.

Creativity and sensuality nourish my soul.

I allow myself to express my emotions fluidly.

I love myself and the world around me, and in return, I heal.

I allow harmonious and fulfilling relationships into my life.

Like water, I am open to the flow of my life.

Thank you for receiving this message. I hope this information was as useful as it was healing for you. Tune in next Friday to the Balance Your Chakras and Chill Series for an introduction to the third chakra, the Solar Plexus.